Judge Song elected new ICC President 11 Mar 2009
Judge Sang-hyun Song of the Republic of Korea has been elected President at the International Criminal Court

Judge Sang-hyun Song

On 11 March 2009 Judges at the International Criminal Court (ICC) elected Judge Sang-hyun Song of the Republic of Korea as President of the Court. Judge Fatoumata Dembele Diarra of Mali was elected First Vice-President and Judge Hans-Peter Kaul of Germany was elected Second Vice-President. All three were elected by an absolute majority for a term of three years.

President Song replaces the outgoing President Phillipe Kirsch of Canada, whose term ended this month. President Song is a former adviser to South Korea's Supreme Court and Ministry of Justice and was active in the reform of his country's penal code and court procedures.

The Presidency is one of the four organs of the ICC. It is responsible for the proper administration of the Court as well as for external relations, such as negotiating agreements on behalf of the Court.

New Judges

Five new judges were sworn in on 9 January 2009 after being elected by the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute (ASP). The new judges are: Judge Fumiko Saiga (Japan), Judge Joyce Aluoch (Kenya), Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng (Botswana), Judge Christine van den Wyngaert (Belgium) and Judge Cuno Tarfusser (Italy). They have each been elected for terms of nine years. The ICC has a bench of 18 Judges, elected by the state parties to the Rome Statute. The Court now consists of 10 female judges and 8 male judges.

Press Release 

Page Tools
Share |
Related Links