Iran-United States Claims Tribunal

General introduction
The Iran-United States Claims Tribunal, The HagueThe Iran-United States Claims Tribunal (IUSCT) came into existence as one of the measures taken to resolve the crisis in relations between the Islamic Republic of Iran and the United States of America arising out of the detention of 52 United States nationals at the United States Embassy in Tehran which commenced in November 1979, and the subsequent freeze of Iranian assets by the United States of America.

The government of Algeria served as intermediary in the search for a mutually acceptable solution. Having consulted extensively with the United States and Iran as to the commitments which each was willing to undertake in order to resolve the crisis, the government of Algeria recorded those commitments in two Declarations made on 19 January 1981. The "General Declaration" and the "Claims Settlement Declaration" or the "Algiers Declarations" were then adhered to by Iran and the United States. The Claims Settlement Declaration established the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal as the mechanism for bringing about binding third-party arbitration.

The Tribunal consists of nine members, three appointed by Iran, three appointed by the United States and three third-country members. On 1 July 1981, the Tribunal held its first meeting in The Hague.

Click here for a list of publications on the Tribunal.

Who's who?
Hans VAN HOUTTE (President and Chairman, Chamber Two)

Job opportunities

Contact information
Iran-United States Claims Tribunal
Parkweg 13
2585 JH The Hague

Tel: 0031-(0)70-3520064
Fax: 0031-(0)70-3502456

Website: Iran-United States Claims Tribunal

English and Farsi